Smooth Sailing on Memorial Day Weekend

Evans Mills, NY-Memorial Day Weekend brought picture perfect weather and top-notch racing as EMRP honored all our fallen service men and women who paid the ultimate sacrifice.  Their courage and bravery will never be forgotten.


The Sport Compact and Thunderstocks started the feature races on the evening.  Ryan Wurtz and Mike Greenfield lead the field to the initial green flag.  Greenfield would take control of the race early, as David Liscum would move into second on the first lap.  Greenfield would set the pace for the first 12 laps, when the first caution would be displayed.  On the restart, Kevin Greenfield would get by Mike to take over the lead.  Justin Coachman would take over the top spot from Billy Matteson to claim the lead in the Sport Compacts.  Greenfield would lead the final 8 laps to win his 3rd Thunderstock feature followed by Mike Greenfield and Nick Galusha in third.  Coachman would lead the Sport Compacts until the final corner.  Matteson and Coachman would make contact sending Coachman up the track, allowing Matteson to take the checkered flag.  Coachman would finish second, followed by Sam Curcie.


Another strong field of 20 plus Caskinette Ford Modifieds took to a 35-lap feature.  Geoff Sharkey and Scott Dinzler made up the front row.  By lap 3, Jeff Pringle would start to show his muscle and inherit the lead.  Pringle would build a 1.5 second lead before the first caution flew on lap 19.  At that time Bryce Bailey had gained 9 positions to restart in the second spot.  On the restart Pringle was able to fend off the hard charging Bailey for a lap when another caution was displayed.  On the ensuing restart, Pringle wouldn’t have the same fortune.  Bailey would get by for the lead and Bryan Sherwood, who started 10th,  put heavy pressure on Pringle for second place.  Bailey would lead the final 15 laps and win his second feature of the year.  Sherwood would get around Pringle for second.  Pringle settled for third, followed by Joe Papin and Steven Sherwood.


The Excess Storage Pro Late Models took to the track next.  Joe Papin would start on the pole, as he was subbing for his brother Tyler.  Chuck Meyer started on the outside pole and would lead lap 1.  Papin would work the high groove and get by Meyer on the next lap.  Papin would start to build his lead as Rylee Gill began to work his way to the front.  By lap 7, Gill would find himself in the second position.  Gill would get within striking distance of Papin but couldn’t find a line to get by Papin.  Papin would win his first feature, followed by Gill and Meyer.


10 Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends would take the green flag.  Devin Thornton would start on the pole and lead the first 10 laps.  2 cautions slowed the field on laps 10 and 11.  On the restart a pack of four cars would race bumper to bumper for the lead.  Chris Malbeuf would take the lead on the restart, but Kyle Hart, Camdin Cook and Brayton Malbeuf all would battle each other, swapping positions multiple times.  Chris Malbeuf would lead the final laps and win his 3rd feature of the year.  Hart would cross the line second and Cook finished third.



Next weekend is Legends Night at EMRP.  The Inaugural Ziegler ’67 will be held to honor the Ziegler Brothers who built the facility in 1967.  The main event will be a 67 Lap Sportsman Modified Race, paying $1,567 to the winner and $250 to take the green flag.  The Excess Storage Pro Late Models, Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends, Sport Compacts and Thunderstocks will also be in action.  In addition, the Classic Asphalt Modified Series will make their first of two stops of the year.  There will also be a classic car show midway throughout the evening.  Pit gates open at 3pm, General Admission at 5pm and racing starts at 6:30pm. Pit pass $35, Adults $15, Military $13, Children 10-17 $10 and under 9 free with paid Adult.