Andre Roggie Captures First Career Modified Feature Win At Evans Mills Raceway Park

By JAY SHIMEL – EVANS MILLS, NY – The annual First Responders Night was held Saturday night at the Evans Mills Raceway Park as they honored all our First Responders Hero’s sponsored by S & R Automotive. The midway and front entrance were full of ambulances, fire trucks and police cars from 27 local, state and US agencies.

EMRP would like to extend a huge “Thank You” to all the agencies who participated and especially to Caskinette Ford Modified driver Kevin Warren for helping organize the event. During intermission EMRP also held it’s annual Box Car races for all of our young fans. 25 boys and girls decorated beautiful cars and competed in a 4-lap race on the frontstretch.

Thank you to all the children who participated. Your cars were amazing and we can’t wait to have you back next year.

Before the features started a special Dash for Cash was held sponsored by Bottle & Can Retrieval Centers, LaFargeville Fire Department and John & Donna Timerman for the Caskinette Ford Modifieds. Taylor Caprara would go on to win the 6-lap race, followed by Geoff Sharkey, Anthony Pettinelli, Scott Dinzler, Kaden Rogers and Kevin Warren. During victory lane interview, Caprara generously donated his winnings to the Peyton L. Morse Legacy Foundation.

The Excess Storage Pro Late Models kicked off the features for the evening which were led to the green flag by Tyler Papin and Chuck Meyer. Meyer would lead the first lap before the only caution flew on lap 2. On the restart, Meyer and Rylee Gill would battle side by side for a lap before Gill could pull away and take the lead. Gill would lead the remaining laps and pick up his 7th win of the season. Papin would edge out Meyer at the finish line to finish second and Meyer would settle for third.

The Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends took to the track next for their 15-lap feature. Camdin Cook would lead lap 1 after two early cautions flew before completing a lap. Kyle Hart would take over the top spot as he worked the inside lane around Cook. Hart would lead the next 10 laps but would spin in turn 2, bring out the caution on lap 12. Chris Malbeuf inherited the lead on the restart followed by Cook. After an electronic scoring malfunction, Malbeuf and Cook were both credited with the win followed by Brody Beckwith and Evan Thomas.

16 Caskinette Ford Modifieds took the green flag for their 35-lap feature. Anthony Pettinelli and Joe Papin made up the front row. Pettinelli would lead lap 1 before Papin would pass Pettinelli on the inside on lap 3. Two quick cautions flew on laps 6 and 8. On the restart, Papin would elect to start on the outside of row 1 and Andre Roggie took the inside to start on the pole. On the restart, Roggie would beat Papin off turn 2 to inherit the lead. Roggie would maintain his lead through restarts on lap 9 and 22. The final caution flew on lap 33 for a spinning Kevin Warren on the frontstretch making hard contact with the wall. This set up a green-white-checker finish. Roggie elected to start on the pole with Papin to his outside and Bryan Sherwood and Taylor Caprara in the second row. Roggie would get the start he needed and reclaim the lead. Sherwood and Caprara battled with Papin for the second position. Roggie would win the race to the checkered flag, winning his first career feature in the modifieds. Sherwood would finish second, followed by Caprara, Tony Pettinelli and Joe Papin.

The final feature of the evening was the NAPA Auto Parts Sport Compacts and the Next Level Excavation Thunderstocks. Colby Goodale and David Paige were the pole sitters. Paige would lead the early laps through early cautions on laps 2 & 3. The trio of Joe Pettinelli, Chuck Powelczyk and Justin Coachman were making their way quickly to the front. By lap 5, Pettinelli would get by Paige for the lead. Powelczyk would keep constant pressure on Pettinelli for the lead. Powelczyk would try multiple lanes to get around Pettinelli, none of which would prevail. Pettinelli would pick up his 6th win of the season. Powelczyk would finish second and Coachman in third. David Liscum would get by Paige to take the lead in the Thunderstocks division. Liscum would win his second feature in three weeks, followed by Justin Burns in second and Colby Goodale.

Next weekend, Evans Mills Raceway Park crowns the 2022 Points Champions as it is the final weekend of points races. The Caskinette Ford Modifieds, Excess Storage Pro Late Models, Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends, Napa Auto Parts Sport Compact/Next Level Excavation Thunderstocks will be back in action. There will also be a be a Diaper Drive to benefit the Community Action Planning Council of Jefferson County. Everyone who donates will be entered to win various door prizes. The final spectator racing event of the year will also be held during intermission. Pit gates open at 3pm, General Admission at 5pm and racing starts at 6:30pm. Pit pass $35, Adults $15, Military $13, Children 10-17 $10 and under 9 free with paid Adult. Evans Mills Raceway Park will be closed on September 10, but will return on September 17th for the 3rd Annual John Burr Classic, with a 75 lap Sportsman Modified Feature.