Round 2 of 2023 sees new winners.

By Jay Shimel

Evans Mills, NY-Mother’s Day weekend brought great weather, large crowds and a high car count to the Evans Mills Raceway Park for the second weekend of racing.  The Jake’s Automotive Small Block Supermodified Championship Series returned to the speedway for their first of two stops during the season, which was presented, by IBEW Local 910 and Northern New York NECA.


The first feature of the evening saw Rylee Gill claim his first feature win of the season in the Excess Storage Pro Late Models.  Gill would lead all 15 laps and cruise to the checkered flag over Tyler Papin.


Kyle Hart and Devon Thornton would make up the front row for the Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends feature.  Thornton would encounter trouble before completing the first lap.  On the restart, Hart would take control over Brayton Malbeuf.  By lap 3, last week’s winner, Chris Malbeuf would work his way into the second position.  Hart would continue to set the pace, but would be fighting a loose racecar as Chris Malbeuf would look for a line around.  On lap 7, Malbeuf would choose the low line exiting turn 2 and take over the top spot.  On the final lap as Malbeuf navigated lap traffic, Hart would get within striking distance.  Coming out of turn 4, Hart would let it all hang out to try to catch Malbeuf.  Hart would get loose and spin collecting the cars of Cody Draper and Evan Thomas as they crossed the start/finish line.  All drivers were able to walk away safely, but all three cars suffered heavy damage.  Malbeuf would collect his second win of the season.  Camdin Cook finished second, followed by Brayton Malbeuf.


The Caskinette Ford Modifieds took to the track next which were lead to the green flag by Geoff Sharkey and Joel Hall.  A series of caution flags would plague the first three laps of the feature.  After struggling on several restarts, Sharkey would be passed by Hall on the lap 5 restart.  Hall would lead the field until a lap 10 caution for a spinning John Ramsey.  On the restart, Kreig Heroth would choose to start on the outside of the front row.  Heroth would beat Hall to turn 1 and take over the lead with Bryce Bailey following in his tracks to take second place.  Bailey would put heavy pressure on Heroth for several laps.  Heroth would be able to hold on to the top spot as Bailey wouldn’t be able to sustain his pace.  Heroth would be the class of the field as he would cross the finish line first.  Bailey would settle for second, followed by Andre Roggie, Joe Papin and Bryan Sherwood.


13 Small Block Supermodifieds were next as part of the Jake’s Automotive SBS Championship Series.  Greg O’Connor and Mike Bruce were the pole sitters for the 30-lap feature.  Bruce would lead the first 4 laps as Danny Kapuscinski marched to the front from his 6th place starting position.  A caution brought the field closer on a lap 5 for a slow Cameron Rowe.  On the restart, Kapuscinski would get by Bruce on the restart and pace the field for the next several laps.  Bruce would not let Kapuscinski get out of his sights.  With 5 laps remaining, Bruce would be on the tail of Kapuscinski battling for the lead.  Bruce would make contact with Kapuscinski in turn 3 with two laps remaining, sending both cars to the rear.  Jessie Bearup would be the beneficiary and inherit the lead.  Bearup, who resides in just a few minutes away in Redwood, would lead the final two laps and win his first feature at EMRP.  Noah Ratcliff would finish second followed by Mike Fowler in third.


The final feature of the evening were the Sport Compacts and Thunderstocks.  David Paige and Mike Greenfield would bring the field to the green flag.  Greenfield would lead lap 1, before a caution flew on lap two from contact between Mike Durham and Cory Mayer.  Kevin Greenfield would claim the top spot on the restart.  By lap six, Chuck Powelczyk would power by Greenfield on the outside.  Powelczyk would build a large lead over second place, Justin Coachman.  In the closing laps, Powelczyk would find heavy lap traffic, which allowed Coachman to close the gap.  Coachman would run out of time, as Powelczyk would take the checkered flag in consecutive weeks.  Coachman would have to settle for second followed by Sam Curcie.  Kevin Greenfield would also win his second feature of the season in the Thunderstocks division, followed by Mike Greenfield and David Liscum.


Next weekend EMRP celebrates Armed Forces Day with the first Spectator Races of the season.  The Caskinette Ford Modifieds, Excess Storage Pro Late Models, Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends and the Sport Compacts and Thunderstocks will be in action as well, presented by Tug Edge Outdoor and More and Ferris Commerical Mowers.  Pit gates open at 3pm, General Admission at 5pm and racing starts at 6:30pm. Pit pass $35, Adults $15, Military $13, Children 10-17 $10 and under 9 free with paid adult.