Christmas Came early for 100+ Kids

Evans Mills, NY-A large group of fans returned to the Evans Mills Raceway Park on Saturday.  After two weeks off race fans were treated with some of the best racing of the year in addition to the best evening for the kids in attendance.  It was a Christmas Miracle Night in conjunction with Bike Night.  Over 20 bicycles and 75 plus gifts were donated by race teams and sponsors for the children to enjoy.  EMRP would like to extend a big “Thank You” to everyone who donated and made this event a success.

24 Bikes were given away as part of the 110 gifts children went home with at the Evans Mills Raceway Park
Justin Burns (11J) looks to the inside of Tim Greenfield (73T) in the Thunderstocks Division at the Evans Mills Raceway Park.

The Sport Compact and Thunderstocks kicked off the features for the evening.  Ryan Wurtz and Mike Greenfield started on the front row, however it would be Kevin Greenfiled leading lap 1.   Greenfield would maintain his lead throughout two early cautions.  The best racing came in the Sport Compacts as Justin Coachman would be the early leader.  Amanda DeFoe, making her only start of the season, would begin to chase down Coachman.  With 6 laps remaining, DeFoe caught Coachman and used the high side of the track to make the pass for the lead.  Three laps later, a caution would slow the field.  DeFoe elected to start on the inside of row 2, Coachman would reclaim the lead on the restart and build a 5 car cushion.  DeFoe would be determined as she again used the high side of the track to get by Coachman again to take the lead and go on to win her first feature of the season.  The travelling nurse from St. Louis, Missouri said in victory lane “she wanted to win more than anything in front of her family and especially her nieces”.  Kevin Greefield would win his 7th feature of the year in the Thundstocks.

Sport Compacts Results:1)Amanda DeFoe, 2)Justin Coachman, 3)Billy Matteson, 4)Sam Curcie, 5)Bridget DeMarse, 6)Chuck Powelczyk

Amanda DeFoe (61) wins her first Sport Compacts feature of 2023 the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography

Thunderstocks Results:1)Kevin Greenfield, 2)Mike Greenfield, 3)Eric Fuller, 4)Jared Gilson, 5)David Paige, 6)Tim Greenfield, 7)Ryan Wutz, 8)Michael Marcinko, 9)Justin Burns

Kevin Greenfield (11A) Wins at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography

John Ramsey and Levi Arthur made up the front row in the Caskinette Ford Modified 35-lap feature.  Ramsey would be the pace sitter for the opening 7 laps as 3 cars would work their way to the front.  By lap 7, Jeff Pringle would work the top groove and get by Ramsey for the lead.  Pringle looked stout, but Andre Roggie showed his muscle on lap 15.  Roggie would use the same groove to get by the leader Pringle.  Roggie would be in command of the race for another 13 laps.  This time it was Kreig Heroth’s turn to battle for the lead.  The fast lane would again be the high side and Heroth would power by Roggie to the lead.  A handful of cautions would slow the field for the remaining 7 laps, claiming several of the cars running in the top 5.  Heroth would endure all the restarts and win his 3rd feature of the season, expanding his season point lead.

Caskinette Ford Modified Results:1)Kreig Heroth, 2)Jeff Pringle, 3)Kaden Rogers, 4)Dylan Bancroft, 5)Levi Arthur, 6)Randy Brunelle, 7)Scott Dinzler, 8)Corey Trombley, 9)Kevin Warren, 10)Geoff Sharkey, 11)Brad Winters, 12)Joe Papin, 13)Tony Pettinelli, 14)John Ramsey, 15)Andre Roggie, 16)Steven Sherwood.

Dylan Bancroft (29) avoids an accident with Joe Papin (3) and Tony Pettinelli (2NY) at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography
Kreig Heorth (1) returns to victory lane in the Caskinette Ford Modifieds feature the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography



13 cars started the Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends as Camdin Cook and Brayton Malbeuf were the pole sitters for the 20-lap race.  Cook would lead the first eight laps, maintaining his lead through 2 early cautions as Chris Malbeuf would work his way to the front.  On lap eight, Malbeuf used the bottom side on the exit of turn 2 to make the pass on Cook for the lead. Malbeuf would keep his spot throughout the middle of the race despite 4 cautions.  On a lap 16 restart, as Malbeuf as the leader, he would find pressure from Kyle Hart and Cook.  Hart would try the high side, but the bottom proved to be faster lane and Malbeuf kept his lead.  A final caution came on lap 19, setting up a one lap shootout.  Hart and Cook could not get by Malbeuf, as he would go on the win his 5th feature of the season.

Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends Results:1)Chris Malbeuf, 2)Kyle Hart, 3)Camdin Cook, 4)Matt Haufe, 5)Brayton Malbeuf, 6)Joel Hall, 7)Brody Beckwith, 8)Carrie Ann Carr, 9)Kyle Wurtz, 10)Evan Thomas, 11)Jayden Hall, 12)Devin Thornton, 13)Cody Draper

Chris Malbeuf (10M) wins the Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends feature at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography

The final feature of the evening was the Excess Storage Pro Late Models which were led to the green flag by James Kiah and Chuck Meyer.  Meyer would get the early lead and check out on the competition.  Meyer would quickly build a lead as Kiah and others would battle for second.  By lap 10, Rylee Gill would move into second, but Meyer would be a straightaway ahead and cruise to his second win of the season.

Excess Storage Pro Late Models Results:1)Chuck Meyer, 2)Rylee Gill, 3)Tyler Papin, 4)Taylor Caprara, 5)James Kiah, 6)Randy Brunelle

James Kiah (3) and Rylee Gill (57) were both able to fix damage and finish the night at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography
Taylor Caprara (721) made his first appearance of 2023 at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography
Chuck Meyer (28) wins the Excess Storage Pro Late Models feature at the Evans Mills Raceway Park. – Reome Photography

Next weekend EMRP hosts the annual Family Autograph Night.  The Caskinette Ford Modifieds, Excess Storage Pro Late Models, Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends and the Sport Compacts and Thunderstocks will also be in action, plus the Classic Asphalt Modified Series will make their final stop of the seaseon.  Pit gates open at 3pm, General Admission at 5pm and racing starts at 6:30pm. Pit pass $35, Adults $15, Military $13, Children 10-17 $10 and under 9 free with paid Adult.